Free and budget CDN for small sites: real prices 2026
Official pricings from Cloudflare, Bunny CDN, KeyCDN and CDN77 verified 16 October 2026: traffic, PoPs, certificates and free tier limits.
UptimeMag editorial team · 16 October 2026 · 2 min read

Anyone managing four or five client websites faces the same question: should everything go behind a free CDN, or is it worth paying a few pounds per month to avoid surprises on traffic costs? We checked the official pricings from four providers on 16 October 2026. Two names that often appear in these comparisons – Fastly's entry-level offering and CDN panels from Italian providers like Register or Aruba – don't have a public per-GB consumption pricelist designed for a single small site: you either get a quote or face an undisclosed minimum spend, so we excluded them to avoid publishing numbers that don't exist anywhere official.
The table
| Service | Free tier | Traffic price (beyond free) | PoPs | TLS certificates | Limits/notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cloudflare Free | Yes, $0/month | No published traffic limit | Global network, not quantified on public pricelist | Included (SSL Universal) | 3 page rules, basic WAF |
| Cloudflare Pro | No (starts from Free) | $20/month with annual billing or $25/month monthly, per site | Same network as Free | Included | Image optimisation, wider WAF |
| Bunny CDN | No | $0.01/GB Europe and North America; $0.03/GB Asia and Oceania; $0.045/GB South America; $0.06/GB Middle East and Africa | 119 PoPs (Standard network) | Not specified in pricelist consulted | Separate "Volume" network, 10 PoPs, from $0.005/GB for high volumes |
| KeyCDN | No | $0.04/GB North America/Europe on first 10 TB/month, drops to $0.01/GB over 100 TB; higher rates for Asia, Africa and Latam | Not listed on page | Included, no additional cost | $4/month minimum, first 3 zones free, $49 minimum payment |
| CDN77 | No stable free tier | Entry threshold around $100/month ($0.02/GB), with first 50 GB traffic and first million requests included; Growth plan from $990/month up to 250 TB ($3.96/TB beyond threshold) | Network with 330 Tbps capacity, number of PoPs not stated | Not specified in pricelist consulted | Enterprise pricing on request |
What actually differs between these figures
Cloudflare's free tier remains the most convenient starting point for a static site or blog: no published traffic limit and certificate included. The jump to Pro makes sense when you need image optimisation or a more comprehensive WAF, not for traffic itself, which remains unlimited on Free.
Bunny CDN and KeyCDN work on pure consumption, no free tier: the practical difference comes down to the pricing tier. Bunny holds a fixed price of $0.01/GB across Europe and North America regardless of volume, while KeyCDN drops progressively as traffic increases, but starts higher in the first bracket.
CDN77 is designed for medium to large volumes: the entry threshold around $100 per month and the Growth plan at $990 for 250 TB make it impractical for a single small site, better suited to those already managing multiple projects under one account.
Before you decide
Always check the pricelist on activation day: regional prices change often without general notice, only with silent page updates. Official links consulted: cloudflare.com/plans, bunny.net/pricing/cdn, keycdn.com/pricing, cdn77.com/pricing.
None of the products mentioned in this comparison is a Prime Software product.
Written with the help of artificial intelligence and checked by the editors (EU AI Act, art. 50).